It’s almost a week now since the Miss Universe 2011 at Sao Paolo, Brazil was concluded with Miss Angola Leila Lopes crowned as the universe’s most beautiful woman while Philippines’ representative, Shamcey Supsup was trailing behind as the 3rd runner up in the prestigious competition where millions of people tuned in to watch last September 12, 2011 (September 13, Philippine time).

The competition most people say was a bit tough this year since the ladies were competitive and were absolutely gorgeous but our faith with the Philippines’ contestant has reaped as joy seeing Shamcey move from Top 16, Top 10 and of course the Magic 5. Shamcey has consistently ranked the top or if not the 2nd spot during the competition until the final 5 came to the last hurdle of the competition which is the Question and Answer Portion. Supsup’s question came from actress Vivica A. Fox who asked her if she would change her religion for someone she loves.

Supsup answer did not come as a surprise to me. For one, we are Filipinos and yes no matter what religion we are it is has always been a lingering issue for us marrying somebody who has different beliefs or religion. And second, I just learned from news also was a Christian. Many people have said that that her answer could have cost her the crown wherein she just placed 3rd runner up after all the good standings she had in the preliminaries.

How did she answer it?

“If I had to change my religious beliefs, I would not marry the person that I love because the first person that I love is God who created me and I have my faith and my principles and this is what makes me who I am. And if that person loves me, he should love my God too.” — Shamcey Supsup

For me, this might not be preferred answer the judges wanted from her but I believe she just stood for what she believed in and what she believed in. When it comes to religion and even to beliefs and more so faith, I believe that there is no safe side, no gray area. It’s either black or white, yes or no. And Shamcey has exhibited her conviction even the crown was almost at her reach. For some people, they could really never understand why she took the risk of answering that question by what she believes in and not by pleasing the judges but for me I think she did what is best and became indeed a model of what a woman of today should be – a woman who has a voice and who will be willing to take a stand.

I rest my case that she answered with her heart and her answer was in no way connected with Shamcey losing the crown. I do not want to debate about religion and beliefs anymore but what I am always proud of us Filipinos is that we are learning to take the stand even if it would cost us something.

To the Miss Universe – 3rd Runner Up 2011 congratulations and welcome home! 🙂

